Shadi’s Outcome!

24 Aug

Dedicated to Shadi Haddad a.k.a 5hadz, I wrote this as a reply to his post; “The outcome

I believed my whole life that money is just a mean to get to your goals and never it is the goal. Money will get you a house in Amman, but it’ll never get you the grandchildren. Now-a-days people are never satisfied. No, I’m not talking about that stupid satisfaction which some people define as the lack of ambition. Satisfaction will be when you realize that the life you’re living is a thousand time better than what you’ve dreamt about 25 years ago. It’s when you say “..in his and our eyes that’s more than enough” and the fact that this feeling is what will keep you giving and pushing yourself beyond limits, to make him proud and to be proud. 🙂

Weird enough Shadi, that in the same time you wrote your post, I posted this as my status on facebook: “Life is all about appreciation. Make me happy, I’ll make you happier… Make me sad, I’ll ruin your life 🙂

I was convinced that it shows power! Till my cousin “Ghassan” commented saying:

من شكر فلنفسه و من كفر فعليها

Even though I replied saying: “that would make sense only if you were dealing with gods,” but somehow what he said came into me. The human within me, which I apparently had masked and exiled, rebelled and hit me real hard. Thus, I wrote this reply but I didn’t post it; “It turned out I’m not a human! Only a lower multi-cellular organism, that feeds upon vanity. Ghassan, only recently, I’ve realized that; and I’m seeking salvation just to be a human again! Trying to swim against the flow but I’m swamped by it over and over again!!

I slept that night with that thought in mind, just to wake up the next morning and read your post! How did I react you may ask! I turned off my laptop, get dressed and went for a long walk. Many thoughts came to my mind, previous conversations and images of people I knew. Then I realized that every feeling I express, every laugh I share is from a written scenario! For many years my friends blamed me for being good, for having a “good heart” till the extent that I preferred that people would curse me instead of saying, “Zeina, you have such a good heart!”

Through my whole life, everybody -friends, classmates and people I randomly met- never missed a chance to break my hopes, murder my joys and kill my passions. Here you are not allowed to express what you feel; you are not allowed to share you joys. Those are your weaknesses which your close, best friends will use to get you down, ruin your plans and fuck every moment of joy you’ll have!

I wish I was exaggerating. I wish I was wrong. The keywords to describe people here will be: hypocrisy, narcissism, fanaticism, vanity and being opportunistic. These traits created a fucked up community which lacks trust and honesty. Now I never remove the mask, and every thing I do is what is expected! I blame myself the most for being weak, for allowing this damned society to infect me!

I’ve always cherished friendship and friends. Now I wish I can enjoy one memory with past friends without the feeling of being used. After the realization how fake and fragile our relations were, I’ve taken the opposite extreme of staying away, not getting involved in any friendship, in any relation. But then I started reading your blog :). The openness in sharing personal thoughts, the courage to speak about anything- not necessarily “taboos”- but simple everyday details, the care about the other, the true feelings of solidarity of joy and pride. All of those broke me down, shattered my external strength and indifference. It made me see the fucked up person that I’ve became!

I want to stop living in an act. I want to be able to love, to laugh, to care and to believe in people again, and I will 🙂

Shadi, wala, hold on to your humanity, it’s giving me hope that good still exists, and humanity still exists! The day you’ll give up your humanity and cross to the other side, will be the day that I will believe that life is not fair and that God is not good!

4 Responses to “Shadi’s Outcome!”

  1. Shmal August 30, 2009 at 4:38 am #

    I love this post :). I’m sorry it took so much time to read but now I understand every comment you place on my blog. It’s true you know, the more people you’re good to the more you get fucked over by them. People have turned into complete assholes. It’s every man/woman for himself/herself and there’s only those that, unfortunately, you can count on 1 hand that will ever give a damn. Zeina, fuck being good to everyone, it never works out. Being honest and putting your true ideas and thoughts across to everyone even if it hurts and rejects them, that’s how we should be. Keep being this new person you have discovered and keeping sharing these lovely posts :).

  2. Zouz August 31, 2009 at 12:19 am #

    Me too, I’m loving the new me 🙂
    You know, it’s like I’ve been from an extreme to extreme, now I’m reaching balance.
    I’m kind of thankful to those who abused my kindness! Now I appreciate good people even more, and I know whom and what I want in my life.
    And we shall never stop learning about life!

  3. zuhair June 23, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    i wish i just can write a very long comment .. but either i write something now or next month cos i am secrewd at work 🙂
    i liked the facebook statues words .. then i was strucked by ur cousin words .. thats very wise so much true .. ” ur cousin is a genious 🙂
    and we do good cos we are good .. its as simple as that, either we influene ppl or not .. what matters that i sleep staissfied at the end of the day …
    Note : ( i’m not that good but i am still happy about my self ) 😀
    its all about being positive .. 🙂

    • Zouz June 23, 2010 at 11:37 am #

      it’s mutual, we influence ppl just as we are influenced by them!
      Some ppls influence is bad, it’s evil! It can make you get far from yourself and be another person!
      That’s what this is about, to be yourself, to be convinced of who you are and fight for it!

      Thanks for you comment, and for your time reading this :))

Leave a comment